What’s your love language?

Understanding someone's love language can make it much easier when buying a gift for them.

Hands up if anyone has ever said to you “I don’t want a gift, I just want to spend time with you” - this could be them telling you their love language is quality time. Or, if you're the type of person who’d rather a handwritten note than some flowers or chocolates - your love language could be words of affirmation.

Now, if you’ve just read the above and are wondering what on earth I’m going on about, hang in there, as it will become clearer…

… In 1992, Gary Chapman, Ph.D - author, speaker, and marriage counsellor - released a book called ‘The 5 Love Languages’ in which he highlights that ‘different people with different personalities give and receive love in different ways’. Understanding those love languages in yourself and your loved ones, can help you connect with them on a deeper level and in turn make your relationships stronger (personal and professional). Plus, imagine how much easier it would be buying a gift for someone if you knew what their love language was!

Find out what your love language is.

Love Languages Explained

1. Acts of Service: Actions definitely speak louder than words for some who’s love language is acts of service. Going out of your way to make their life a little easier shows them they are valued and cared for.

Perfect needi Gift Match: 

BAVE vegan bath salts being hand poured into a bath for a Valentine's Treat

2. Receiving Gifts: This is one of the easier love languages to cater for - you just have to put some thought into the present you are gifting them. People who love gifts don’t care about the monetary value, it is the sentiment that goes with the gift that shows you really care.

Perfect needi Gift Match: 

Palentine's/Galentine's/Valentine's Personalised Comic Book - unusual valentine's Gift

3. Quality Time: Giving your undivided attention to someone who values quality time, can really be all it takes to make their day. Spending time with them, no interruptions, no phones, just being present, be it a one on one conversation or joining in with their favourite activity speaks volumes to them.

Perfect needi Gift Match:

Gin Safari by Bicycle for Two E-voucher Sold By Indytute


4. Words of Affirmation: Compliments, verbal encouragement, regular communication via text, or email and simple “I love you’s” are all a big tick to someone who values written and spoken words, it makes them feel seen and appreciated. 

Perfect needi Gift Match:


5. Physical Touch: A reassuring pat on the back, a squeeze of the arm, a big bear hug or a gentle kiss are incredibly important to someone who’s love language is physical touch - they value the feeling of warmth and comfort that comes with it.

Perfect needi Gift Match:

Sustainable, organic bamboo bed linen

Hopefully after reading this you might have more of an understanding on the languages of love. You might have even had a lightbulb moment, I know I did when reading up on this and writing about it - my brother will now, forever get the best presents as I finally understand his love language 😁!

But don’t worry if you're still not sure on what to buy someone - even if you do know their love language - our team of fantastic gift finders can help. Simply head to our gift finding page, answer a few questions and let our team know the person's love language and they’ll do the rest.

P.s. If you’d like to learn more about your own love language, why not take the love language quiz. It might even help your loved ones understand you a little better, and encourage them to think outside the box when it comes to treating you to something nice.

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.